2015 Xmas Quiz

I’ve not quite finished my end of year round up yet, so this week we’re going a little off piste…

Last week I tested out my special Xmas quiz on my fellow DPC team members to ensure it was fit for purpose. As always, the team was very helpful and did not shy away from giving me constructive feedback. “It’s too obscure”, “This is hard, really hard”, “I won, and I only got 7 out of 25 correct”, and “What were we meant to be doing again?”. Clearly the quiz was, erm, fit for purpose and ready to hit the blog without any further work. So here it is!

In almost every DP News I have a little fun and wrap things up with a quote of some kind. Sometimes verbatim, sometimes corrupted with some digital preservation reference. Often connected to something in the blog post. This seemed perfect to pull together into one place, creating a quiz without me spending very much effort on it. Of course, that does mean it is a little obscure, as my colleagues observed. And yes, it has nothing to do with Xmas or 2015 for that matter..

To help you out just a little bit, many of the quotes are last lines or “famous” trademark sign offs, but not all. They come from films, novels, TV shows, songs, a TV advert and a poem. All you have to do is work out where the lines are from. Who said them, what the show was, the name of the movie or whatever.

1 That is all, go away
2 It’s good night from my Orchid ID. And it’s good night from his
3 I think he’s attempting re-ingest sir.
4 Good night and good luck
5 So long and thanks for all the websites
6 Game over man, game over
7 But it was all right, everything was all right, the struggle was finished. He had won the victory over himself. He loved OAIS
8 Safe journey, space fans… wherever you are.
9 Good fight, good night!
10 Peas out
11 I was cured all right
12 I took one more glance over my past life, then turned to the future. I was eager to embrace the world.
13 I hear the roar of the big machine
14 And so castles made of sand, slips into the sea, eventually
15 Round up all the AIPs in a field…
16 Alright, let’s get straight to the biscuits…
17 The creatures outside looked from digital object to digital object, but already it was impossible to say which was which.
18 Mess with the best, (still it seems) die like the rest
19 Oh Good. For a moment there, I thought we were in trouble.
20 All together now: Incorrect disc for-mat. It’s an incorrect disc for-mat….
21 Chapel Hill, with this conference you were spoiling us. Exchellente.
22 Tis better to have archived and lost everything, Than never to have tried to do it in the first place
23 Information Transit got the wrong man. I got the right man. The wrong one was delivered to me as the right man, I accepted him on good faith as the right man. Was I wrong?
24 There’s more to life than a little metadata you know. Don’tcha know that? And here y’are, and it’s a beautiful day. Well. I just don’t understand it.
25 Don’t hit me with them negative waves so early in the morning. Think the digital object will be there and it will be there. It’s a mother, beautiful digital object, and it’s gonna be there. Ok?

I’ll publish the “answers” in the new year. Obviously a bit of Googling would illicit most of the answers rather easily, but I know you wouldn’t cheat would you? Given that there is no prize, you would of course just be cheating yourself…

We have Santa Claus. Tell him we have Santa for sale

2015 Xmas Quiz

Leave a Reply

